Royal Ascot 2015 lucky 15 tips

Racing Post Trophy Betting and Trends

Racing Post Trophy Betting and Trends – The Racing Post Trophy is staged each year at Doncaster racecourse and is for 2 year-old horses only.

The Group One contest is run over a distance of 1m and is a very good guide ahead of the following year’s Classics, in particular the 2,000 Guineas and Epsom Derby – backed up in recent years with High Chaparral, Motivator, Authorized and, most-recently, Camelot all winning the Racing Post Trophy before going onto take the Epsom Derby the next season.

Our horse racing stats expect Andy Newton takes a look back at past winners and gives you the key stats ahead of the 2015 renewal – this year run on Saturday 24th October.


free bookie bets

FREE HORSE RACING TIP: Trainer Aidan O’Brien has won this race a staggering seven times in the past and he looks to have another strong hand this year with Deauville and Johannes Vermeer looking his main hopes at this stage. Deauville is the shorter of the pair in the ante-post betting market, but a horse they both might struggle to beat is FOUNDATION. This John Gosden-trained 2 year-old has already put Deaville in his place when beating that horse by ¾ of a length in the Royal Lodge at HQ and on that form should take the beating. The Gosden camp are yet to win this race, but in what’s been the trainer’s best-ever season they can add to campaign, while Frankie Dettori will be looking for his third win in this lucrative Group One.  


Recent Racing Post Trophy Winners

2014 – Elm Park (13/8 fav)
2013 – Kingston Hill (7/2 fav)
2012 – Kingsbarns (15/8 fav)
2011 – Camelot (10/11 fav)
2010 – Casamento (2/1 fav)
2009 – St Nicholas Abbey (13/8 fav)
2008 – Crowded House (7/1)
2007 – Ibn Khaldun (11/4 fav)
2006 – Authorized (25/1)
2005 – Palace Episode (20/1)
2004 – Motivator (6/4 fav)
2003 – American Post (5/6 fav)
2002 – Brian Boru (11/8 fav)

Note: The 2006 renewal was staged at Newbury

Racing Post Trophy Betting Trends

13/13 – Winning distance – 1 ¼ lengths or more
11/13 – Foaled in February or later
11/13 – Had won either 1 or 2 races before
11/13 – Finished in the top two last time out
11/13 – Placed favourites
11/13 – Raced with the last month
10/13 – Winning favourites
9/13 – Foaled in either Feb or March
9/13 – Had raced at least twice previously
9/13 – Won their last race
8/13 – Ran at either the Curragh (3) or Newmarket (5) last time out
5/13 – Won by an Irish-based yard
4/13 – Won by a Montjeu colt
4/13 – Trained by Aidan O’Brien
3/13 – Went onto win the Epsom Derby
1/13 – Went onto win the 2,000 Guineas
1/13 – Went onto win the St Leger
Five winners have gone onto win the following season’s Epsom Derby
Aidan O’Brien has won the race 7 times – 1997, 1999, 2001, 2002, 2009, 2011 & 2012

BET ON THE RACING POST TROPHY HERE with BET365 (plus cliam a FREE £200 joining BONUS)


bET365 4-1

Best Bookmaker Offers (Ts&C's apply)

WILLIAM HILL: If your horse comes second in any of the LIVE C4 races they will give you your money back (mobile, app, racing post app) (up to (£25)

PADDY POWER: Money back if your horse finishes second – Selected races

BET365: Back any winner at 4/1 or bigger on any of the LIVE C4 races and they will give you a FREE BET to the same stake on the next live C4 race (up to £50)

BETFAIR SPORTSBOOK: Back any winner at 3/1 or bigger on any LIVE C4 race and they will give you a FREE BET to the same stake (up to £25) – Money back if your beaten into second by a horse priced 20/1 or bigger! Upto £25 on all UK flat and NH races.

CORAL: Money back if beaten into second by a HEAD(or less) up to £/€25 per race.


Thatsbettingtips Staff

Thatsbettingtips Staff

Content Contributor at
The team behind the betting tips, offers and promotions at tipster website